Star vs. Magic: the Gathering

The place to discuss your favorite toys (action figures, dolls, building blocks, etc.), board games, and video games, as well their related industries and related news.
FordPerfect

Star vs. Magic: the Gathering

Post by FordPerfect »

Last edited by FordPerfect on Sun Oct 03, 2021 12:55 am, edited 13 times in total.
FordPerfect

What is this Thread about?

Post by FordPerfect »

I’ve been playing Magic for a while, six years or so (with a two year break in the middle), and like many other players, became very interested in its design. I’ve made custom cards before and even tried convincing some of my friends to design their own cards around a theme, building our decks with them so we could play.

The project was never finished, but I printed proxies of some of my custom cards and had fun with them. This year I felt inspired and started designing cards again, this time I’ll post them here, then maybe someone else will find them fun or interesting.

Most of the cards I made are based on fantasy works not related to magic. Due to both the hardship of finding images fitting cards of original settings, and because I like the exercise of trying to locate a character mechanic and flavorwise on the color pie.

During my first adventure with custom cards I tried to make enough cards for a complete set, but then I realised I wouldn’t play most of them and the base work didn’t have material well balanced among the colors, mechanic and flavorwise. This time I will be a little more picky and only make cards from the elements that really make sense (or fun) to be translated into MTG cards.

By the time I’m writing this introduction I only plan to share my current project: Star vs. the gathering of Magic. As it has many cards ready and many others in process of creation, but depending on my time availability and the eventual utility and/or interest this thread might have to other people eventually I can post more cards.